登录注册
社区应用 最新帖子 精华区 社区服务 会员列表 统计排行
主题 : Is it time to leave California
scubadiver 离线
级别: 营长

显示用户信息 
楼主  发表于: 2003-09-19   

Is it time to leave California

Lately the thought of leaving California (yes, even Bay area) has come to my mind frequently. No action is taken yet, because my wife is still committed to Bay area for another year or two at least. But why leave Bay area?

--- no more excitement, at least for IT sector. not more bright spots, no big new things on the horizon. instant millinares are distant memories, baring some rare exceptions... and yet you still have to work hard, arguable harder because you are the one left to hold the trenches while others are laid off...

---- high tax and fat government (and high labor costs). As a small business owner, I would move my business to Nevada or Oregon in a heartbeat, if decision is purely driven by economics. even as a consumer, I would rather move to neighboring states. just look at the gas price, ever increasing sales tax, even sales tax by cities are on the drawing board! then there is huge property tax (by percentage California is the that high, but with the inflated property value, it is a in reality higher than most of other places). next year we will have tripled vehicle registration fees! owning an expensive vehicles? maybe it's time to donate them...smile.gif

---- poor school. despite the recent improvement (which could be short lived), California is one of worst in terms of public schools, and my friend, it's not going to get better with the fundamentally shifting demographics. I would hate to send my kids to public schools in Fremont or Cupertino, where the student body is predominantly Asian. I don't think it will provide a balanced view of reality for my kids. So if we continue to stay in California, private school is the only way to go. It's probably not bad, but I would prefer public schools, where the student body is a closer representation of the society.